On December 12,1993, the new Constitution of Russia was approved by the people who voted for it at the referendum. This Constitution will replace an old one which was adopted in 1978, when Russia was one of the Republics of the USSR. [...]

The new Constitution consists of one hundred thirty-seven (137) articles. It is impossible to describe all of them in detail. However, there are some provisions which are crucial for the future constitutional development of the country. The new Constitution should be the Bridge to Democracy. In the words of President Yeltsin, it is a touchstone in Russia's transition from totalitarian dictatorship to democracy. [This article aims to describe some of these provisions.]