Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is the largest and oldest degree-granting college at The University of Akron. In addition to providing a world-class education in an array of bachelor's, master’s and doctoral degree programs, Buchtel College provides the majority of general education courses for the University. Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences is named for John R. Buchtel (1820-1892), an Akron industrialist who helped establish Buchtel College in 1870, the predecessor to The University of Akron. The Buchtel College of Liberal Arts was formed in 1913 when Buchtel College became a municipal university. Buchtel College is home to 23 schools and departments, 9 centers and institutes, and 4 special programs.


Browse the Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences Collections:

Fine Arts


Natural Sciences

Social Sciences