The 19th Annual English Department Student Award Winners

Friday, April 26, 2019

9:30AM-12:00 Noon

The Jedediah Brownbread, Esq. Award

Madeline Myers

Calista Cummings Award

Madeline Myers

John T. Dukes Prize in Composition Studies

Eirik Olson

Lauren Beach

Sam Ella Dukes Memorial Poetry Prize

Paul Mangus

DT McCrea

Sonia Potter

Brooklyn Dennison

The Donald A. and Laura Jane Keister

Memorial Essay Prize in Literature

Kyle Cochrun

The Mary K. Kirtz Literary Essay Prize

in International Literature

Floreecia Smith

Literary Guild Excellence in Literary

Criticism Prize

Madeline Myers

The Mary Mostenic Award for

Composition

Caitlyn Zollinger

Aaron "Max" Schuldiner Holocaust Essay

Award

Abby Bashor

The Cathryn C. Taliaferro Shakespeare

Essay Prize

Chad Thatcher

Sonia Potter

The Marion H. Smith Short Story Prize

Isaiah Coleman

Eirik Olson

Blake Chastain

Bethany Scarpitti

Literary Guild Student Service Prize

Erin Siegferth

Carl H. and Dorothy S. Bauer Scholarship

Jason Jurkowski

Tom Mocarski

Noor Hindi

Bryon Dickon

The Zora M. Ledinko Endowed Memorial

Scholarship

Bryon Dickon

The Dr. John Samuel Phillipson, Jr. Scholarship

(Endowed)

Raquel Miller

Brandi Yetzer

Lauren Whitley

The Frank Pixley Memorial Fund Scholarship

(Endowed)

Taylor Brennan

Leann Bishob

Wiktoria Moroz

The Dr. Sally Slocum Endowed Scholarship

Emily Miller

The Mary A. and Joseph E. Snyder Scholarship

(Endowed)

Emily Miller

The 19th Annual English Department Student Awards Presenters

The Jedediah Brownbread, Esq. Award

Giffels, Stoynoff

Calista Cummings Award

Giffels, Hebert

John T. Dukes Prize in Composition Studies

Booher, Svehla, Stoynoff

Sam Ella Dukes Memorial Poetry Prize

Ambrisco, Biddinger

The Donald A. and Laura Jane Keister

Memorial Essay Prize in Literature

Wallace, Thelin

The Mary K. Kirtz Literary Essay Prize

<u>in International Literature</u>

Bilia, Rhoades, Biddinger

Literary Guild Excellence in Literary

Criticism Prize

Nunn

The Mary Mostenic Award for

Composition

Giffels, Rhoades, Wallace,

Drabick

Aaron "Max" Schuldiner Holocaust

Essay Award

Stoynoff, Wasserman

The Cathryn C. Taliaferro Shakespeare

Essay Prize

Ambrisco, Rhoades, Nunn

The Marion H. Smith Short Story Prize

Harrell, Thelin, Wasserman

Literary Guild Student Service Prize

Nunn

Carl H. and Dorothy S. Bauer Scholarship

Drew, Nunn, Thelin

The Zora M. Ledinko Endowed Memorial

Scholarship

Biddinger and Ambrisco

The Dr. John Samuel Phillipson, Jr. Scholarship

(Endowed)

Bolton, Miller, Zhang

The Frank Pixley Memorial Fund Scholarship

(Endowed)

Ambrisco, Drew, Harrell

Dr. Sally Slocum Endowed Scholarship

Chura, Drew, Garcia-DuPlain

The Mary A. and Joseph E. Snyder Scholarship

(Endowed)

Hebert, Svehla, Wasserman

Selected Remarks from the 2019 University of Akron English Department Awards Ceremony

Literary Guild Student Service Prize: Erin Siegfirth

Erin is a senior at The University of Akron, who is majoring in English with minors in both creative writing and consumer marketing. She is the editor-inchief of *AshBelt*, the undergraduate literary magazine, and, as a participant in UA's Roundtable Series on Women in Business, she shows her dedication to bettering not only the English department, but the University as a whole. Besides her contributions to The University of Akron, she is an accomplished poet and has her work published in both *Polaris* and *Lines + Stars*. Her ambition to succeed and her commitment to serving the University are limitless.

-- Sonia Potter and Kaylie Yaceczko

John T. Dukes Memorial Essay Prize in Composition: Lauren Beach and Eirik Olson

The John T. Dukes Memorial Essay Prize in Composition was created by Dr. Thomas Dukes, former English department faculty member, to honor the memory of his late father. John T. Dukes was an Army sergeant and barber who longed for higher education but was unable to pursue it due to profound dyslexia. This prize is awarded in his name each year for an outstanding essay in Composition Studies written by a current graduate student.

This year the committee decided to award a first and second place prize.

Second Place is awarded to Ms. Lauren Beach for her essay: "Is Transfer Possible?: An Exploration of the Research on Transfer." The committee felt Lauren's essay was both well written and adroitly engaged the field's scholarship.

First Place is awarded to Mr. Eirik Olson for his essay: "Itself, a Thing: The Pragmatic Ideation of an Imperfect Self in Writing." The committee felt Eirik's essay not only adeptly engaged the field's scholarship but also added to that conversation.

-- Dr. Lance Svehla